April 5

Blog #3 – Chocolate Chip Cookies (Spoiler: This was a Fail)

Hi! Okay, look. I know I said I’d be sticking to cooking only and not baking, but when I saw these cookies I just HAD to. Also, the recipe didn’t require many ingredients, and I could use the stuff that I brought for the previous week’s recipes. I don’t really have a sweet tooth, but I must admit, I’ve been craving something sweet for a while, and these cookies better do the job! Like always, I edited the recipe, although this time there wasn’t much to edit, because the recipe was relatively simple.

Recipe: https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchen/chocolate-chip-cookies-recipe4-2011856

Editied Recipe: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1uv8ZPBWWyC3g1PTUiJJ23Bsbml82ndp0XK-ciSwvIY8/edit

This recipe was kind of a failure. Why? Well, what made it a disaster were the chocolate chips. Or may I say chocolate CHUNKS. The chocolate “chips” were huge, and I didn’t really think much of it until after I added them to the batter. What happened was that since the chips were so big but there were so few of them, the cookies themselves did not have the chocolate evenly distributed when you took a bite out of them. So they mostly tasted like eggs, except for the parts with the chocolate chunks in them. I must say, those bits of the cookies (with the actual chocolate in them!!) were pretty tasty. But, they weren’t gooey and melted like some super delicious chocolate chip cookies that I’ve tasted in the past. It was just hard chocolate, and it hadn’t melted into the cookie one bit. Also, the bottoms of the cookies wereclose to burnt. Overall, I have A LOT to improve on for the next time I make these cookies. I’d say this was a 75% fail and a 25% success, just like the ratio of the chocolate to batter!!!

Video: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1pxgMAQ7OB4RIN3xT4gAW2ArPA2gHtWzi/view?usp=sharing

Here are some things I learnt from making this, and some things I would do if I were to make the dish again:

  • When I mixed the liquids, I saw some chunks in the mixture. I came to the conclusion that this was butter, and that this happened because I hadn’t melted it long enough.
  • CUT THE CHOCOLATE INTO SMALLER PIECES!
  • Add some more sugar, because it was lacking a lot of it.
  • Find a way to make them toasted all around, not just close to burnt on the bottom.


Posted April 5, 2023 by shreyaott22 in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*