April 12

Blog #4 – Sweet and Tangy Chicken Burgers

Hi! This week, I decided to make Sweet and Tangy Chicken Burgers. After last week’s special dish, the chocolate chip cookies, I went back to cooking instead of baking this week. Like last time, I spent a couple of minutes editing the recipe to make it easier to understand. After that, I got right to work

Recipe: https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchen/sweet-and-tangy-chicken-burgers-1927968

Editied Recipe: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1uv8ZPBWWyC3g1PTUiJJ23Bsbml82ndp0XK-ciSwvIY8/edit

This recipe was fairly simple but still took a good amount of time. The main thing I really cooked was the chicken patty because the lettuce and tomatoes were just toppings. Speaking of the chicken patty, it was a disaster. The overall flavouring of the patty itself was actually really tasty. I wasn’t expecting to like the strong taste of cinnamon, but I liked it a lot more than I thought!! Almost all of the ingredients in the patty had super strong flavours, but this made the patty taste a lot better because it spiced it up. However, the patty wasn’t even a patty. It all fell right apart when I tried flipping it, so, in the end, they were just small pieces of chicken in the burger. I quickly learnt that this was because I used chicken breast instead of ground chicken!! Honestly, chicken breast also had a chance of working, but because I didn’t cut the chicken into small enough pieces, it didn’t. There was a reason the recipe specifically called for ground chicken instead of any other type. The reason is, if the pieces aren’t small and compact enough, they absolutely will not stick together and hold the patty shape. I learnt this the hard way. But the savoury taste of the patty really made up for this! Other than the patty, I think the burger tasted really good.

Video: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ycb0AvBeWpz2mM8hgs9ffd8L36We7yAl/view?usp=sharing

Here are some things I learnt from making this, and some things I would do if I were to make the dish again:

  • Use ground chicken!
  • Add some extra toppings to contribute even more to the savoriness (like olives)
  • Look at the recipe very closely while buying ingredients and prior to making the dish.

See you next blog!


Posted April 12, 2023 by shreyaott22 in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*