March 22

Blog #2 – Parmesan Chicken (+ Rice)

Hi! I made tomato soup last week, and it was kind of similar to pasta, so this week I wanted to go in a different direction. But, I’m going to try to do something that will be a bit more challenging for me. Although, last week’s recipe was not the easiest, because cooking takes a lot of patience and attention. I also don’t think it helped that my dad was being panicked for no reason, also making me panicked for no reason, so this time I had my mom with me (no hard feelings Dad!) Putting all of that aside, this week I decided to make Parmesan Chicken (+ Rice). Like last time, I spent a couple of minutes editing the recipe to make it easier to understand. Then, I got to work!

Recipe: https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchen/slow-cooker-chicken-thighs-3565651

Editied Recipe: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1uv8ZPBWWyC3g1PTUiJJ23Bsbml82ndp0XK-ciSwvIY8/edit

This recipe was a lot more difficult than last week’s because cooking pasta is pretty simple. You just boil the noodles and make the sauce. However, with the chicken, it has to be perfectly cooked inside and outside to actually taste good (and not bland and boring), and that was a lot harder than I thought. Also, it’s difficult to get the seasoning inside the chicken and not just on the outside. What makes this worse is that if you don’t get the seasoning on the inside or don’t cook it all the way through, it just tastes boring and flavourless!! However, I must say, the salad tasted really good! Honestly, for the first time, the chicken still tasted pretty good. I also made (sort of) French toast, using the leftover eggs, flour, and cheese/breadcrumbs, because I did not want that to go to waste. That tasted pretty good too!

Video: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ByBVrE-_jtxGMZQlU9Mzn3iEZvR6KrTq/view?usp=sharing

Here are some things I learnt from making this:

  • Pound the chicken to be flatter!! When I cooked the chicken, I didn’t really know what to expect, so I barely pounded it. It wasn’t super thick, but it also wasn’t super thin. I thought that if I made it too thin it would break apart. Anyways, due to me not pounding the chicken flat enough, the chicken did not get to cook thoroughly, because it was too thick for the heat to nicely burn the insides like it does the outside. I mean, at least it wasn’t raw. However, this did make it taste a bit bland.

Here are some things I would do if I were to make the dish again:

  • Make something to go with the plain rice so that it gives it some flavour
  • Add some more cultural spices to increase the intensity of the chicken
  • POUND THE CHICKEN FLATTER!!


Posted March 22, 2023 by shreyaott22 in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*