May 3

Blog #7 – Momos

Hi! This week, I decided to make Momos. Momos are a traditional Nepali dish, and they’re very authentic and popular. They’re a type of dumpling with ground chicken and other ingredients as the filling. Nepal, as well as Tibet, is known as the birthplace of the Momo. But as I said, they’re super similar to dumplings. Although, the way that they’re wrapped is different from other dumplings. Instead of being in a crescent shape, they’re in a more ball-like shape. the filling can be vegetables or chicken, but my family enjoys the chicken more. They are also usually served with a spicy tomato dipping sauce. I am going to use the recipe I found on Google, but I’m also going to add some extra ingredients that my mom recommends. I’ll also be using my mom’s recipe to make the dipping sauce.

Recipe: https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/nepali-momo-4635126

Editied Recipe: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1uv8ZPBWWyC3g1PTUiJJ23Bsbml82ndp0XK-ciSwvIY8/edit

This dish turned out super good! In the end, the filling ended up having the perfect ratio of ground chicken to the rest of the things in it (like green onion, cabbage, etc.), which made it very tasty and delicious. The tomato sauce was also really good, as it had the perfect amount of salt and other spices in it. The wrapping of the Momo itself was also a really good consistency, as it was the perfect amount of chewy. Honestly, I am super happy with how these Momos turned out! However, the only thing that I would redo is the wrapping part of making these. Wrapping Momos is actually quite hard because it requires you to put a specific amount of filling so that it doesn’t all burst out when you wrap it. Additionally, the whole scrunching motion that you have to do to wrap them was a little hard at first, but I got the hang of it eventually. Overall, I think I did a pretty good job at making these! I’m glad that I was able to learn how to make this cultural dish, and I think next week I’ll be making another traditional Nepali dish!!

Video: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1our77wT6GnIe8Jdydj6Jfm1DaX-MkpS7/view?usp=sharing

Here are some things I learnt from making this, and some things I would do if I were to make the dish again:

  • Work on my wrapping skills.


Posted May 3, 2023 by shreyaott22 in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*